End-of-the-year roundup, the most cliche kind of roundup you can get!

January 2, 2014

I have a lot to say, but I feel like much of it belongs to separate blog posts.  However, I felt the need to have a cliché end of the year type thing, because let’s face it, 2013 was a good year for me.

 

–I had some better luck with publishing this year.  While I’ve been published before, I actually got paid for this stuff!  Three publications, in fact.  One will be out in 2014, but the money already came through.  Not that I’m all about the money, because I made a grand total of $40.  Still, it’s a good sign for things to come.

 

–I set up this blog, plus my Facebook page.  That’s good!  Like many people, I have a habit of talking about things in excess, and then never actually getting around to them.  Or, I’ll wait for a few years to finally do it, and it’s not nearly as grandiose as I had envisioned.  I never intended for anything to be grandiose or amazingly awesome, but I’m happy with the way these things are going for me.

 

–I’ve probably written more stories this year that I actually care about than any other time.  2008 was a great year short story-wise for me, but I can’t look at most of that stuff without cringing.  While more than a few of the 2013 fare is cringeworthy, a lot of it is pretty good too.  And that’s good because I can get them shaped up, and have more stuff under my belt.

 

–Editing was big, too.  I would go out on Saturday nights to coffee shops or restaurants, chugging multiple cups of coffee, chicken fingers, milkshakes, and various soups, while editing stories.  My fiancé has come with me many a time, and while she’s sitting there, reading her book and looking beautiful, I’d be focused on shaping up my stories.  I do give her plenty of time at home, and it’s great that she’s so supportive of me and doesn’t have a problem when I’m working on my stuff.

 

–My biggest achievement?  Finishing “In the Pale Moonlight” in December.  I have a lot to say about this, but let’s just get the nitty-gritty out of the way: it’s a novel.  As of now, 50 chapters.  435 pages.  Lots of words.  Oh, and the fact that I started it in February of 2010.  Now please don’t think I’ve been working on it that entire time.  I took breaks.  Many breaks.  Many months-long breaks.  Some were warranted.  Most weren’t.  It wasn’t laziness, and it wasn’t writer’s block.  It was life; adulthood, other jobs, other writing stuff that really drove me crazy, forcing me to write and edit it.  It’s okay, because I’m happy with the final product.  I have a lot of work ahead of me, and lot of editing to do.  But I’ll do it, because I want to.

 

–Clay and Styg, my seafaring adventurers, have been going on even more adventures and having even crazier experiences.  Lately, I’ve been writing a lot of stuff for them, but more importantly, researching a lot of stuff to make their adventures even cooler.  Big thanks to my good friend Josh for the new book on poisons, as that will help me with some really cool ideas I have.

 

I’m looking forward to a great 2014.  I hope everyone is ready for a fun ride, because it’s only going to get better.

Leave a Reply

