Brimming over like an old man’s chamber pot

June 9, 2014

I’m giddy with titillating excitement!

Fortunately, I’m able to sit still. Mainly because I ate a huge breakfast and it’s taking forever for me to digest it, so any sudden or jerky movements are a terrible idea right now. But I’m still excited, and happy, and all that good stuff.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t have to do with me getting a story published. But close! Um, I think…

I got an idea.

I got an idea!

I haven’t written anything new since…March? February? January? I know I’ve written new stories this year, and I could easily go check my writing folder for the exact date of the latest new work, but that’s not important. What is important is that I’m brimming over again.

Brimming over with all of one idea!*

This is good for me, because I was getting nervous. All year, I kept telling myself to edit my novel. A few months ago (or maybe weeks, again, time is muddy in my brain right now. What?! It’s June already?!?!?!!) I got to it, and slowly but surely, I’m picking my way through it. In fact, I’m 100 pages away from being done! Then I just need to type the changes (I always edit by printing out the story and handwriting all changes) and then rob a bank so I can pay a professional editor to look it over for me, then work on getting it published. The hard part is mostly over, though, and I’m happy.

So I’ve been mostly worried about getting this thing finished. That’s great! What I was getting worried about, however, was that I didn’t have any new ideas come to mind. I always get ideas for stories that I jot down and file away for a later time to write when I have the chance. But nothing’s been coming up, aside from ideas I’ve already had, and that was just things to flesh out the ideas.

I’ll write all of this when I have the chance. That’s not the big deal. The fact that my typically abundant reservoir of a brain is all dried up is frightening me. But not anymore! For I have an idea!

I’d like to write it sometime this week, considering I have today and the next two days off. Doubtful, though, since my birthday is Thursday and I’ll be doing birthday stuff and necessary things like cleaning the apartment for this brief vacation. Then again, I might just get to it tonight. Who knows?

Naturally, you’ll have to wait until it’s published to find out what it is (sorry for the suspense, but that’s how we writers roll), but I just wanted to share the good news. So don’t worry, okay? I’m not losing it.

*I’ve got a list of stories I still need to write, and aside from focusing on the novel, I’ve got quite a few other short stories I’m working at editing as well, but I’ve just been upset that nothing new was brimming over.

Anyway, I hope everyone has read and enjoyed “Extermination” by this point. It’s getting some positive feedback, so please go check it out if you haven’t already! And check out the other great stories on the website as well, because they’re really good too!

Leave a Reply

