I Want it All

February 17, 2015

I don’t struggle with blog titles, but I like to put something witty up there. This one just came to me, before I even started writing it. Not only am I listening to the same-titled song by my favorite band ever, Depeche Mode, but it actually seems fitting for what I’m about to write.

I just wanted to share a few writerly things going on for me right now, so hopefully it makes sense.

+Just before Christmas, I received a positive response from a publication regarding a story I submitted. They want to publish it! And, they want to pay me for it! While I was excited about the prospect of $25, I was more excited about getting a story published. However, I haven’t heard back from them since, and I know better than to pester them about it. I do know that they’re having some issues right now, but man, I wish they would just keep me updated as to its progress…

+I’ve started writing “The Third Tower” again. I originally hoped to have the whole book written in six weeks, which is that awesome pipe dream many writers have. At first, it seemed like I would. Then Christmas got in the way, as well as short stories I simply HAD to write. I’m not upset though, because I pounded out some great short works in that time. Still, it’s back to basics with novel writing, and I’m happy. In just the past few days, I’ve done more work than I normally do in a week, so I’m in good spirits.

+I need to read over a short story before putting it up for workshop. I keep telling myself that it won’t take more than an hour, but as the title says, I want it all. I don’t want to waste writing time on review, but I need to. Hopefully tonight I will, but who knows? Maybe I’ll want to write more. This is not a bad thing.

+Editing on “In the Pale Moonlight” is going swimmingly. My editor is very positive about it, and I think once my final version is done, things are going to be pretty positive for me.

+Not writing related, but I’ve been looking for a new job for quite some time. While I’m currently employed and get paid quite well, I still really want something new. In the meantime, I’ve got lots of free time at my job to stand around, so I write. Seriously, I’ve written A LOT during down time, including most of “The Third Tower”. Last night, I wrote a whole chapter!

Things are going well, but I know they could be better. I’m working on myself, meaning I’m putting more effort into things, but a lot of this depends on other people as well. Hopefully they take what I have to offer, and help me to get where I’ve always wanted to be.

Leave a Reply

