Could be trouble…

May 19, 2015

My wife and I went to see the new Mad Max: Fury Road movie yesterday. I loved it. Tons of mindless, action movie bullshit that really just makes you happy that movies like that exist.

I paid for my whole seat, but I only used the edge!

Sigh…and then all the feminist stuff.

Wait, what? Where? How? Who? What?

Ladies and gentlemen, I really didn’t notice any of the stuff that people are bitching about. Furiosa (Charlize Theron) was on a mission of vengeance and led a group of people going to get it. Is THAT the feminist stuff?

I’ve always been taught that true feminism is equal rights. Plain and simple, when you get down to the nitty-gritty, it’s not that men are “less than” or anything, and not that women are “dominant” or whatnot. Equality.

Okay, so I guess I’m a feminist. If you’re willing and able to do something, great. If you can’t do it, well, sorry but you’ll have to figure out a way to do it or find something else.

If you’re able to do something but don’t want to, well, tell them to go get wet.

I’ve worked for women, with women, been in charge, been equal, all that. Why is it so difficult for people to just see the reality of it that it doesn’t really matter what is between your legs or what color your skin? If you do a good job and earn my respect, awesome. If you’re a piece of shit who just needs a good baseball upside the head, I’ll bring my Louisville Slugger…no matter what gender you are. (Well, okay, I really won’t hit someone with a baseball bat but you get the gist.)

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about this outcry that thousands of dipshit internet turds are going on about all because of a movie, and it worries me. In my upcoming book, “In the Pale Moonlight” there are several characters that are women. Shock, I know! To make things worse, they don’t just act as sex objects! Some even have jobs to do that are cooler and better than men’s!

And I’m worried it’ll be trouble. Because the insecure internet whiners will make a stink about it.

But I’m not that worried. Fuck ’em. People can talk all they want. What really matters is that in the long run, if you like something, you like it. If not, you don’t. Want to waste everyone’s time (including your own) by writing a blog about how hurt you are by something? Fine.

Just don’t expect me to care.

But I do care about kickass movies, books, television, comics, music, artwork, whatever. Even if it’s a woman doing the ass kicking.

Leave a Reply

