Copycat

June 19, 2015

There can be similar ideas on the market. Hell, there can be total ripoffs that foster just enough changes to make it seem okay.

Yesterday, DC Comics released their new title, Black Canary #1. It’s awesome, and I’m really glad I took a chance on it. Also, I love the art style!

But the story of this issue is very similar to a short story I wrote a few years ago. It was never published, and I can’t claim that the writer of the comic stole my idea, especially because there are enough differences to make them individual. However, the main idea is similar, and it bugs me.

I’ve been sitting on the story for a while, mainly because I wasn’t too confident with it. However, after recently reading over it again, I’ve decided to start looking into submitting it for publication.

Well, lo and behold, a similar idea is out there already.

But not to worry, I’m going to do it anyway. Because I didn’t steal the idea, and they’re different enough that it won’t matter.

And you know what else? It’s a damn good story. I can’t cheat you out of that 😉

Leave a Reply

