Shakin’ Down

June 28, 2015

There’s a lot going on in the world right now. As an American, there are a few things that are more prominent in my news feed than in other places, and I feel inundated with notifications of these things. Some are affecting me, others aren’t. Still, information is a part of our daily lives, and I have some thoughts.

Chris Squire, the bass player for Yes, has passed away. Chris was the only member of the band to play on every album (all 21 of them!), and was, in my opinion, the most talented (sorry, Trevor).

What many of you don’t know is that I was formerly a musician. From 1996 to 2007, I played bass guitar in multiple bands, and just on my own. Chris was a big influence in my learning, even though I couldn’t even dream of playing like he did. Well, “Owner of a Lonely Heart”, but that’s fairly simple, compared to his other basslines. Regardless, I feel like the musical world is a little bit emptier without Chris, especially given his relatively young age (68, I think?), and the fact that he was still touring and recording with Yes.

Gay marriage is legal in the United States! I’m so happy, as are many, many others. While I’m straight as a board, I’ve always been an ally, a supporter, a friend, and a fellow human being who just wants other humans to have the same rights as me. Purely for aesthetic reasons, I’ve never been a big rainbow person, but I couldn’t be happier to see so many rainbows on the internet right now.

SpaceX’s rocket…sigh. What a devastating loss. It was unmanned, but was heading up to the ISS to drop off supplies, and then…boom. I really wish this was a story I’m working on, and something cool happens and all ends well. Unfortunately, it’s real, and costly, and hopefully, something we can learn from. It seems like any time there is an incident involving space travel, programs are put into question, and money is the main topic everyone comes back to. I hope that this can be figured out, and we can continue to explore our galaxy, and keep science fiction writers like me active, and working on stories that don’t really make much sense in the long run.

Those are my thoughts…I’ve got a lot more on my mind, but nothing involving the world at large. I have been working on stuff, but not as much as I’d like. Still, that’s a story for another time.

Leave a Reply

