Happiness…

August 2, 2015

…is getting an acceptance email. Thank you, Beyond Science Fiction, my new favorite publication!

My story “Escape” will appear in their upcoming September issue. How’s that for good things finally happening?

It’s an interesting story behind the story, actually.

I wrote it back in early 2010, for a contest. I put a lot of effort into it, had a lot of people look it over, and still got it rejected. That didn’t stop me, though. I worked harder, fixed it up even more, and sent it off to a few more places. A few months later, in May or June of 2010, it was accepted!

But the publication went belly up literally that week. They never even sent me an email!

After six months of waiting to hear back, I put 2 & 2 together and realized, I’d never hear from them again. Damn!

A few years passed, I started submitting again, and kept getting rejected. Guess how many publications I sent it to before it finally got accepted. Give up?

70.

Yep, seventy. I figured it was fine, just not what they were looking for.

Recently, I thought about rewriting the story…maybe I could fix it up. But nope, Beyond Science Fiction is awesome and saw it for its merits and loves it and wants to publish it.

Folks, sometimes you just need to have a little bit of patience. I’m glad I did.

Leave a Reply

