Hugos!

August 23, 2015

Last night, the Hugo Awards were presented. Unfortunately, not only could I not attend, I wasn’t nominated (seriously, people?!).

However, there were a lot of people/publications/etc. nominated that were there more or less because some people are very, very petty. These groups, the Sad Puppies/Rabid Puppies, are bigoted and hate liberalism, and feel the need to bring things back to white males, because reasons.

Guess what?

None of their nominees won!

As a perennial loser, I understand the frustration and emotional impact that losing can have on a person, so I feel for them, truly. However, the nominees who were there more or less for no reason other than to prove a point would have been hollow victories. The “true” nominees, based on the merit of their work, not the color of their skin/country of origin/merchandise between their legs, mostly all won.

Some of the winners were “No Award” which is an even bigger slap in the face to the losers, it seems.

Point I’m making? Thank you, people, for voting intelligently. Thank you for thinking about things, and not just proving a petty point that no one really cares about (except those hoping to make it).

Will this bury me? When editors receive a submission from me and go check on my social media to decide whether or not they’ll publish my work, will they see this and get pissed? I don’t care–I want people to judge writing/entertainment on its merit, not the overlay of color that seems so important these days.

And to some publications that didn’t want to be on the slates in the first place? Good job.

(Oh, and in completely unrelated news, I edited a story last night, and I’m very happy with it. Hopefully it’ll be coming soon!)

Leave a Reply

