Craft of War?

November 15, 2015

So, Warcraft.

I was never a Warcraft person. I played the original game a few times back when it came out (1994? That was over 20 years ago!), but not a whole lot. I enjoyed it, but if you know me, you’ll know I’ve never been a big video game person.

Unless it’s involving The Legend of Zelda. Then I’m all over that shit.

But yeah, Warcraft and Starcraft, not really my cup of tea. World of Warcraft? Don’t get me started.

Well, okay I’ll start a little bit.

I’ve lost friends over that game (and other MMO’s, to be fair). I had a friend who ignored his family, lost sleep and was frequently late to work because of WoW. We aren’t really friends anymore.

I’ve seen relationships end because of that game. And let’s face it, that Leroy Jenkins thing, while hilarious (and probably fake from what hundreds of blowhards have told me), just proved how stupid some people can be.

But there’s this Warcraft movie coming out soon. It looks over the top, shiny and filled with CGI. I can’t wait to see it.

First off, the main character is played by Ragnar Lothbrok. I love Travis Fimmel, and can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am to see him in this role. I think he’ll be one of the shining stars in this cast. Also, it’s directed by Duncan Jones, son of the legendary David Bowie. Duncan directed one of my favorite movies ever, Moon. Let’s hope he can do as good a job with this one.

More than that, though, is the story. Not only does it follow the humans, typically thought of as the good guys, it also follows the orcs, or bad guys.

Both of these sides have stories to tell. Both have their own motives and needs. We are going to see both sides of this story. How often does that happen?

As a writer, that’s awesome. One of the big things going on in the sci-fi/fantasy world aside from white male protagonists getting the boot is the grimdark nature of people. Maybe the protagonist isn’t completely good, and the antagonist isn’t completely bad. I don’t want to see horrible, evil people win out, of course, but how many of us can honestly say we’ve never done anything even remotely “bad”?

I have. I’m not ashamed to admit it. I’m also not ashamed to admit that I’ve rooted for the bad guys before, as I’ve believed in their cause more than anyone else’s. There’s nothing wrong with that, since we all need to believe in something.

This should be fun. Naturally there’s the chance that this movie could suck, but I’m looking forward to a two-sided fight that no one really comes out the victor. In writing, it seems like everyone needs these finite, super mega death bomb endings with clear winners and losers. Sorry folks, it doesn’t always work that way. Expect things, like life, to be open ended.

Now I just need to wait for the movie and see if I end up changing my tune. Not that anything else is coming up. Some movie about a war in the stars, I think?

Leave a Reply

