Patience, Padawan…

January 25, 2016

Sometimes, you just gotta be patient.

One of the oldest ideas in the book, huh? Remember Obi-Wan telling Anakin, “Patience, Padawan?” Or how about Master Splinter in the old TMNT cartoon, “Patience is a virtue?”

As many of you know, I’m impatient and get really antsy when I have to wait long periods of time. It does pay off, however, as good things come to those who wait.

In December of 2014 (over a year ago!), a story of mine entitled “The Man Without a Planet” was accepted by Black Denim Lit for publication. It was originally supposed to be in the July 2015 issue. September came and went, and I sent an email asking about it. It was pushed back to October, and then pretty much until funding became available. I get that, but the communication was on the low end.

I understand. I’m not mad, nor was I ever. Just frustrated and antsy.

Well, they’re publishing it very soon! Of course you’ll know when they do, why wouldn’t I tell anyone? This is a great chance to spread the word about Myke Edwards. An entertaining science fiction piece in a great online (free!) publication? How could you not want to tell all of your friends?

Whenever good things like this happen, I get very introspective. I’ve been thankful for so much, and for so many, and I just know I couldn’t keep doing this without any of you.

See, I’ve been sending out queries for my novel lately. While I haven’t had much in the way of positive responses (come on, guys…really?), it’s getting out there. People are aware of it, and most importantly, I’m doing the legwork. This is the part that people really don’t like to do, and wonder why nothing’s happening. Sorry, Charlie, but you can’t published if you don’t get the work in the hands of the right people.

While I’m waiting for the right person to get it, I’m working on other stuff. But the point I’m making is, I wouldn’t be doing it if not for anyone else. I love writing and everything that comes with it, and I’ll never quit doing it. I know, however, with so many people in my corner, that this isn’t a futile fight. That never-ending quest to get published, to be noticed, is so much more worthwhile with friends to back me up.

Hey, I’ve got two stories (at the least! Hopefully many more…) getting published this year. I hope I get the chance to tell you about more stories, and a book, and everything else I can imagine. If not, I know you’ll be happy to hear about it when it finally does come true, because a big part of it belongs to you.

Leave a Reply

