Moving On

April 4, 2016

Well!

It’s been a strange trip. Things have been moving faster than the speed of light for me, and I feel like I can finally just sit and let it all catch up.

Naturally, for a writer, this means that writing hasn’t played much of a role in my life, but there’s a very good reason for it, and I plan on getting to it.

Way back in August, I landed a new job. It was nice to be away from my witchy boss (seriously, that woman made me not want to go into work ever) and unfair sales quotas, but I loved the people I worked with, not to mention the fact that I had plenty of time to write while at work and at home. Still, I needed out of there, and got myself into a new place.

It was okay. Not even close to what I preferred, but I was around a much nicer boss, no sales quotas, and still had time to write…sometimes. If someone saw me sitting at the table writing something, they’d basically tattle on me, and my supervisor would chide me for it. It was nice having writing time, but in the long run, not the best.

Due to many reasons, I had to get out of there as well. I hate to say it, but money was a major factor. I applied for all sorts of jobs, and even went through a staffing agency. Interviews came and went, but nothing positive happened.

In January, like I’ve mentioned, I started sending out queries for my latest novel. I submitted stories like crazy. Some even got accepted! But still, offers for the novel, and the jobs, weren’t happening at all. Two big things like that can really bring on the depression, and lack of desire to carry on with it.

Fortunately, I did get a new job. It pays well, and has awesome hours! I started Tuesday, and I like it so far. Two days before, however, things weren’t so great.

My father-in-law died on Easter Sunday. I can’t say we were shocked, as his health had been declining in the past few years. He didn’t take care of himself, and the amount of salt he ate was atrocious. Still, it wasn’t something we were expecting, and it made for a stressful, difficult week.

The funeral was Saturday. After all was said and done, all the emotions I’d been staving off for the week came crashing down. It hasn’t been easy for me, and I’m getting through it. Still, there was some positivity to think about.

He supported me with my writing. Any time a story got accepted, my wife would tell him with much happiness about my good fortune. I usually waved it off, but he always seemed so excited for me. He loved Tarzan and Conan, Prince Valiant and Sgt. Rock, so fun adventure stories and fantasy tales of blood and gore were right up his alley. I always knew he cared, but never really thought much of it until Amy mentioned something the other day.

It really felt good to know that he cared so much. My own parents never supported my endeavors, and it felt like a lot of friends didn’t care either. To know that my father-in-law, a man who seemingly had nothing positive to say about anyone at any time was a fan of mine made me smile.

It also made me want to get back in it.

Sunday, I sat down and sent out more queries for my novel. I skimmed over two stories I’m about to send out. I made a list of stories to edit, and even looked at the outline for the remaining chapters in the novel I’m currently working on.

I’ve learned a lesson with all of this. First, never let life interfere with writing. I know that I can’t do it all the time, but just because my job might not be going so well doesn’t mean I can’t put words on paper. Second, just because people might not be showering me with love and affection doesn’t mean I don’t have it. I’ve never been the type of person who needs constant reassurance, but sometimes, it’s nice to know.

Today, I put a picture of me and my father-in-law here on my desk. Any time I need that reassurance, I just need to look at it. He might be gone, but his silent enthusiasm for my work will never go away, and that’s all I need.

Leave a Reply

