In a Flash!

August 2, 2016

(Note: I’ve had this blog written for about four months or so by this point, but never got around to posting it due to things outside of my control. Finally, I’ve gotten a chance to tweak it and post it in all its glory. Enjoy!)

Way back in September of 2013, I declared on this blog and my Facebook page that I would be writing flash fiction and posting it for free—FOR FREE!!!—right here, on this blog. I did, once, but immediately took it down.

I didn’t really want to talk about it, but at the time it didn’t seem appropriate. My mother was diagnosed with cancer, and a lot of those flash stories were pretty gruesome. Most ended in death, for one or more people. While none directly addressed her situation, I felt it would be in poor taste given what my family was going through.

Fortunately, Mother is all better. They got it taken care of, and she’s never been better. My dad was recently in the hospital as well, but he’s doing good too, and they just celebrated their 45th wedding anniversary back in March! That’s big news.

But anyway, I’ve been thinking about the flash fiction quite a bit recently. I have a story that I revised a few months ago, and despite the fact that I could probably (possibly? Hopefully? Maybe?) get it published in an actual publication, I really don’t feel like messing around with it. I must have sent that story out to 50 or more publications over the course of three years before sitting on it for a while (leading up to the recent revision).

I realize something though.

I’m done with it.

Don’t get me wrong, I love that story and I’ll always love that story, no matter what anyone else says about it. Sitting around and waiting for someone to maybe say they liked it enough to publish it while I could just as easily do that makes zero sense to me.

So I’ve decided to self-publish it.

A part of me wanted to put it up here, on this blog. But then I realized, if I put it on Amazon or Smashwords or whatever self-publishing sites are out there, it has a better chance of many people reading it. Plus, it’ll be easier in the long run to direct people over to it.

So that got me thinking about my flash pieces I’ve had just sitting here, collecting virtual dust.

I’m finally putting them online. Starting very soon, free flash fiction will be published here on this blog. No editing (okay, maybe a little), no elaborate plots, and very little character development. You know what they will include? Great stories that don’t take a lot of time to read.

AND THEY’RE COMPLETELY FREE!!!

Is your mouth watering yet? I hope so—mine sure is!

The funny thing is, it made me think of a flash piece I wrote back in 2004, while bored in class. A friend told me that true flash fiction is 100 words or less. The story isn’t the greatest, but I did manage to tell a complete tale in under 100 words.

For me, that’s a big accomplishment. One that I’m proud of, and one that I can’t wait to share with you.

Assorted musings:

-Neil Gaiman has a nonfiction book coming out. I’ve been thinking about trying my hand at some as well. Yea or nay?

-I’m still waiting for that response, 7th Sea…

-Getting ready to get back into the latest novel. Hopefully it’ll be done before the leaves start falling!

-Whatever you think about the Game of Thrones tv series or even the books, George RR Martin still kicks ass, despite his slow speed at writing. Hey, all the more better, right?

-It’s August already. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

