The Long Con

August 20, 2016

Between work and writing, I feel like my eyes are constantly glued to a computer screen. Ugh, eyes melting, eyelids drooping…

Stop! Stop, I say, I must persist! I’ve been doing lots of great stuff, but for now, I’d like to talk about my latest epiphany.

Of course networking is a good idea as a writer, yes? So why am I not out there doing so? The internet is a great place to start, of course, and I do plenty with my loving internet, but it’s not enough. So, with what little spare time I’ve had, I’ve been figuring things out.

Promotions! Book fairs! Conventions!

Of course, I’ve always loved conventions, being a gamer and a meganerd, but haven’t had the money in recent years to go to many. However, if I am an exhibitor, I don’t need to worry as much about that. Since I’m self-publishing, I can bite the bullet, invest in some self-published physical books, not just ebooks. If I go to cons, even with a few publications on my table, people will know me, read me, and be entertained just as much as everyone else.

At least, I hope  so…

It’s a hard business, but I think I can swing it. I’m planning now, so next summer, expect to see me out doing my thing. But I don’t have to have physical publications, I can still rub elbows and hobnob, not to mention pass out litter-ature.

I used to play in bands, so I’m no stranger to hanging up flyers and passing out papers. I call it litter-ature because 90% of people toss it on the ground when you hand it to them, but that other 10% will look at it, and possibly follow the lead. If I put my internet connections on there, not to mention where they can get FREE stories, I’ve got a few new followers.

Yikes, I sound like Charlie Manson! Don’t worry, I’m nothing like him, honest.

In fact, I am going to go to bookstores in and around the area to promote. I’m going to drop off flyers at comic book shops, coffee houses, libraries, maybe even a few colleges. But more than anything, it’s those conventions and book fairs.

I at least owe it to myself to try. And I’d love to see you at a few as well!

Tell me in the comments: what fairs/festivals/conventions/etc. around you should I go to, or at least look into?

Stay sexy!

Leave a Reply

