Hard earned, hard spent

September 15, 2016

I took the plunge tonight. Facebook has a function where you can “boost” a post with the power of the almighty dollar. I put money into it ($7! Whoo!), and now I’m eagerly awaiting massive hits and downloads on “Omar’s Well” and pretty much anything else I put on Smashwords.

A watched pot never boils, but in the four hours since I’ve done it, not much has happened. Luckily, I have it running for a week. I hope it works…oh, I hope I hope I hope…

Was it a bad idea? Should I not spend money to promote? It seems like the only way to reach a lot of people is by money. There are tons of free methods, but paying for it is like, “HEY! LOOK OVER HERE! SOMETHING YOU’RE INTERESTED IT! DON’T BE A FOOL AND CLICK THE LINK!!!!”

A free promo is kind of like a cute kitten saying “I’d be happy if you’d do this, but you really don’t need to.”

That’s just how I see it, but I’m curious to know what others think. I don’t want to spend a whole lot of money on promotions, but how else will this work out for me? Editors and agents aren’t picking up on things (and to the few editors who are holding onto my stories currently out there in the ether, what do you think?), and word of mouth doesn’t work unless your name is Neil Gaiman.

Sigh…

In other news, I wrote a new ending to a story, and have been plowing out all sorts of great stuff. Soon, my sexies. Soon, soon, soon…

Leave a Reply

